Awards and academic supports

SOGS is proud to support and celebrate our members’ academic achievements through a number of awards, conference, publications, and media.

Learn more on this page:


125th Anniversary Scholarship

The SOGS 125th Anniversary Scholarship is awarded once per year to four full-time members of the Society of Graduate Students. On the basis of academic merit, research excellence, and community involvement, this scholarship is awarded to full-time Masters and Doctoral students.

Contribution to the academic community is to be defined as publications, academic conference participation and similar achievements. The above criteria being equal between two or more applicants, the Academic Committee may take into account the applicants’ contributions to the university community and the greater community.

The Academic Committee shall award four scholarships of $1250.00 each. Two scholarships will be awarded to Master’s students and two scholarships will be awarded to PhD. students.

In order to apply for the scholarship, the applicant must be a member of the society. Additionally, the applicant must be able to demonstrate that he or she receives less in funding from the university and other academic sources (scholarships and bursaries already expected) than he or she pays in tuition fees.

Applications which demonstrate that students receive more in funding than they pay in tuition will not be considered. The applicant will be required to release their financial information from the university to be made available to the Academic Committee.

125th Anniversary Scholarship Application Form (PDF, updated April 2018)

Peggy Collins Memorial Award

Awarded to a part-time graduate student in a part-time designated graduate program based on academic achievement. Preference will be given to individuals who are in the workforce full-time; have family commitments; are involved in the community at Western or the community at large. Applications must be accompanied by an essay (max. 250 words) describing the candidate’s motivation for returning to school, commitments at work, family and community involvement. Selection will be made by a committee with undergraduate and graduate faculty representation in consultation with the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.

This award was made possible by generous donations from the family, friends and colleagues of Peggy Collins, a long-time employee of Western. It is hoped that this award will help to continue Peggy’s unending efforts to support others in their meaningful struggles to balance family, career and personal development. Established through Foundation Western.

Value: 1 award of $2,000. (Application forms currently being updated. Check back later in the term. Deadline is in October.)

Graduate Student Teaching Assistant Award

Each year, SOGS recognizes the efforts of our extraordinary TAs who dedicate themselves to teaching and the education experience of students at Western University with the Graduate Student Teaching Assistant (GSTA) Awards. Twenty awards of $500 are presented annually to graduate students, divided equally across the divisions of the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.

Award recipients are selected by the GSTA Committee based on the results of standard evaluations and written comments provided by nominees’ students. Starting in 2005-06, the nomination and evaluation process is completed entirely online. Award nominees and recipients were recognized at a reception held in early June. The awards are sponsored by the the Society of Graduate Students, PSAC 610 (the Graduate Teaching Assistants’ Union), and the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.

Since 2016, all nominated TAs will be notified if they have been nominated. If the nominations have indicated on the nomination form, then TAs will also receive (anonymized) feedback to use for their teaching dossiers.

The nomination form for the WINTER 2018 term opens March 19, 2018and closes on April 30, 2018

The form may be accessed online starting March 19th.

Most Recent Recipients (2016-2017)

Arts & Humanities

Michael Iannozzi, Dept. Linguistics/French

Jonathan Doering, Dept. Theory & Criticism 

Meghan O’hara, Dept. English, English Literature

Sarah Munro, Dept. Visual Arts

Martin Ross, Dept. Music Theory, Music Research And Composition

Biological Sciences

Andrea Petrella, Dept. Kinesiology

Madeleine Norris, Dept. Anatomy and Cell Biology

Veerta Singh, Dept. Biology

Alexander Roy, Dept. Biochemistry

Linh Nguyen Vaccarello, Dept. Audiology, Communication Sciences And Disorders

Physical Sciences

Tyler Pattenden, Dept. Applied Mathematics, Mathematics

Thomas Lardner, Dept. Civil Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Venkataraman Balasubramanian, Dept. Applied Mathematics/Mathematics

Abdallah Moubayed, Dept. Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dave Tripp, Dept. Electrical and Computer Engineering

Social Science

Arthur Percy Sherwood, Dept. Political Science

Lianne Mulder, Dept. Sociology

Rhonda Balzarini, Dept. Psychology

James Budrow, Dept. Sociology

Samantha Goldsmith, Dept. Psychology

A list of past recipients can be found here!


Graduate Student Research and Scholarship Joint Fund

The Joint Fund for Graduate Research, also known as the Joint Fund for Support of Graduate Student Research and Scholarship, was initiated to help support the creation of events (conferences, lectures) that bring external participants to share their research and interact with Western graduate students.

Research Western, the Society of Graduate Students (SOGS), and the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (SGPS) have formed a partnership, annually contributing to $6,000 apiece to a jointly administered fund, designed to aid these events. The maximum amount awarded to each successful application is $1,000.

Please download and complete the application (Word document or PDF format) and return it in person or by email to the Society of Graduate Students, with all additional materials at least one month prior to the event.

Applications accepted throughout the year.

Joint Fund FAQ:

  1. What is the purpose of the Joint Fund for Graduate Student Research and Scholarship?
    The Joint Fund was developed to help graduate students and departments to bring conferences to Western that allow graduate students at Western to showcase their research. The Joint Fund can also be used to bring in external speakers to speak to and interact with graduate students. Please note that the committee does not look favourably upon events requesting money primarily for food.
  2. Does the Joint Fund support travel to conferences outside of the London area? 
    No. If you are a student looking for a way to support conference travel please apply to the SOGS Travel Subsidy.
  3. How much money is available?
    Research Western, the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies and SOGS each contribute $6000 to the Joint Fund for a total of $18,000. The maximum amount that will be awarded to each successful application is $1,000.


Thesis Completion Fund

The Thesis Completion Fund is a collaborative, one-time awards program between SOGS and Public Service Alliance of Canada Local 610 (PSAC 610) to help members of the Society of Graduate Students.

Based on academic merit and research excellence, and financial need, its aim is to provide assistance to graduate students beyond the end of their funding packages.

SOGS and PSAC 610 advocate for proper funding according to the needs of each graduate students.

The application (please print one-sided only to help with distribution during adjudication.)

is due in paper form no later than July 31, 2018 at 4 pm to The Society of Graduate Students, Middlesex College, Room 8, Western University, London, ON N6A 5B7.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to e-mail SOGS VP Academic, Jina Kum, at