Graduate Student Teaching Awards of Excellence

Each year, SOGS recognizes the efforts of our extraordinary graduate students who dedicate themselves to teaching and the educational experience of students at Western University with the Graduate Student Teaching Awards (GSTA). Awards of $500 are presented annually to graduate students.

Award recipients are selected by the GSTA Committee based on the results of standard evaluations and written comments provided by nominees’ students, faculty, and staff. Since 2005, the nomination and evaluation process is completed entirely online. The awards are sponsored by the Society of Graduate Students (SOGS) and the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (SGPS).

We encourage students, faculty, and staff to nominate graduate students that demonstrate outstanding teaching capabilities.

WINTER 2019 Survey:

TAs will be notified if they have been nominated and receive feedback to use for their teaching dossiers with permission indicated by their nominator.

The winners of the 2017-2018 GSTA Awards are:

Social Sciences:

Shereen Arcis
Matthew Murray
Cecilia Campo
Meghan Miller
Jose Espinoza
Natalie Trevino
Graeme Cannon

Physical Sciences:

Alicia Koo
Joshua LeClair
Nolan Dyck
Jason Davison
Muhammad Safdar
Eunice Chan
Mark Baker

Arts & Humanities:

Sebastien Kouakou
Adam Roy
Adriana Soto-Corominas
Kristen Colbeck
Emily Carrothers
Elizabeth Lepock
Martin Ross

Biological Sciences:

Eric Collins
Taniya Nagpal
Saranga Sriranganathan
Mostafa Shokoohi
Nada Chams
Monica Rivero Gutierrez
Aaron Simkovich

View images from the 2017-2018 GSTA awards here.

A list of past recipients can be found here!

(Please note this list is incomplete as of June 2018. We are in the process of updating the previous recipients list with missing information. Thank you.)