COMMITTEES

All SOGS members are eligible to join a committee. Committees are the cornerstone of graduate life on campus. Committees are a major part of SOGS’ advocacy mandate and the #gradlife experience at Western. Committees help improve conditions for SOGS’ diverse membership.

Each SOGS Executive oversees various committees based on their portfolio’s mandate.

What committees would you like to learn more about?


Overview of Committees

Portfolio of the President 

Chair: Michelle Wong | ywong252@uwo.ca

Chair: Harshita Jaiprakash hjaiprak@uwo.ca


Portfolio of the VP Academic

Chair: Erind Alushaj ealushaj@uwo.ca

Find our more about Gradcast here. Listen to  the show on Podbean

ChairAriel Frame | arielframe@gmail.com


Portfolio of the VP Advocacy

Check out the  Not All the Same campaign.

Chair: Mohamed AbuGazia | mabugazi@uwo.ca

Chair: Mohammed Ellakany | mellakan@uwo.ca

Join the IGSIC Facebook group to see their events. Check out IGSIC’s International Graduate Student Guide to Western and our resources for international students.

Chair: Tony Jung  |   tjung7@uwo.ca

Chair: Indra Bishnoi  ibishnoi@uwo.ca 


Portfolio of the VP Finance

Chair: Michelle Wong | ywong252@uwo.ca

Chair: Becky Horst | rhorst3@uwo.ca

See the Grad Club website for menu and weekly events.

Chair: Becky Horst | rhorst3@uwo.ca


Portfolio of the VP Student Services

Co-chairs: Daiana Pur & Tony Jung

dpur@uwo.ca  and tjung7@uwo.ca

Learn more about the  SOGS Extended Health Plan. For general questions about your plan, contact the SOGS Administrative Assistant.

Co-ChairsRoger HudsonNitya Gannavarapu  

rhudson7@uwo.casgannava@uwo.ca

 Like the SOGS on Facebook to keep up with OSC events!

Chair: Nicole Devosndevos2@uwo.ca


Reporting to the Speaker

Chair: Kate McCandless | kmccandl@uwo.ca

Chair: Mitchell Glovermglover5@uwo.ca

Chair: Nicole Devos | ndevos2@uwo.ca


reporting to the ombudsperson

Chair: Sarai Guerrerosguerre2@uwo.ca