COMMITTEES

All SOGS members in good standing are eligible to join a committee (or multiple committees)! SOGS committees are the cornerstone of #GradLifeWesternU.

Committees are an integral part of SOGS’ advocacy mandate and oversee most of the projects and initiatives SOGS works on annually. Being a committee member helps improve conditions for SOGS’ diverse membership on- and off-campus, enriching graduate student life by connecting students across disparate departments and faculties.


WANT TO JOIN A COMMITTEE?

To join any of our committees, please contact the committee Chair directly by email, listed below. Let them know you are interested to join their committee by sending them a simple email. *Please do not send a resume.

Not sure if you want to join a SOGS committee?

Read up on the committees you are interested in. There is a pamphlet describing what each committee does, what you will learn by being on the committee, and what the time commitment to join.

We have 14+ committees. THERE IS SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE!

Benefits of getting involved:

By attending and participating in committee meetings as a volunteer member, we will issue you a $5 gift voucher to the Grad Club for each meeting! Committees typically meet once per month.


LEARN MORE ABOUT OUR COMMITTEES:

Each SOGS Executive/Non-Executive oversees various committees based on their portfolio’s mandate. Scroll down to see our complete list of committees.


LIST OF SOGS COMMITTEES:

Portfolio of the President 

Chair: Michelle Wong | ywong252@uwo.ca

Chair: Sohini Chatterjee | schatt7@uwo.ca 


Portfolio of the VP Academic

Chair: Erind Alushaj ealushaj@uwo.ca

Find our more about Gradcast here. Listen to  the show on Podbean

ChairAriel Frame | gradcastradio@gmail.com


Portfolio of the VP Advocacy

Co-chairs: Alvin Leenus & Anmol Dutta |

aleenus@uwo.ca & adutta24@uwo.ca

Check out the  Not All the Same campaign.

Chair: Sohini Chatterjee & Anmol Dutta | schatt7@uwo.ca & adutta24@uwo.ca

Chair: Mohammed Ellakany & Christina Safar               

 mellakan@uwo.ca & csafar@uwo.ca

 

Join the IGSIC Facebook group to see their events. Check out IGSIC’s International Graduate Student Guide to Western and our resources for international students.

Chair: Varun Ravikumarvraviku@uwo.ca

Chair: Courtney Neidig cneidig@uwo.ca

Sustainability Coordinator:  Brendon Samuelsbsamuel2@uwo.ca


Portfolio of the VP Finance

Chair: Michelle Wong | ywong252@uwo.ca

See the Grad Club website for menu and weekly events.

Chair: VACANT | finance@sogs.ca

Chair: William Snyder | finance.committee@sogs.ca


Portfolio of the VP Student Services

Co-chairs: VACANT | services@sogs.ca

Learn more about the  SOGS Extended Health Plan. For general questions about your plan, contact the SOGS Membership Services Manager

Chair: Erind Alushaj  |  ealushaj@uwo.ca

For personal health plan inquiries or concerns, please contact the SOGS Membership Services Manager at sogs@uwo.ca.

 Like the SOGS on Facebook to keep up with OSC events!

Chair: Nicole Devosndevos2@uwo.ca


Reporting to the Speaker

Chair and Deputy Speaker: Mitchell Glover | mglover5@uwo.ca

Chair: Mitchell Glovermglover5@uwo.ca

Chair: Nicole Devos and Mitchell Glover | ndevos2@uwo.ca and mglover5@uwo.ca